Brixen shows its character: with cultural and sportive accents, real South Tyrolean as well as Mediterranean flair

The “Alter Schlachthof” guest inn is located in the heart of the city, where a lot of opposites meet – and merge into an exciting and pleasant overall picture. Those who come to Brixen across the Brenner Pass will not only notice it due to the temperatures, but also to the atmosphere: here it begins, the warm south. At the same time, the clear traces of Alpine tradition, the winding alleys and the still impressive mountain backdrop are reminiscent of the fact that you are not yet that far in the south.

 

Brixen not only combines the advantages of the Alpine and Mediterranean lifestyles. Here in the lively centre of the Eisack valley, sportive and cultural highlights as well as shopping and enjoyment offers conflate into a leisure programme which offers something appropriate for every taste, every day and every mood. You would like to take a walk through the city? Perfect. Brixen is made to stroll, especially in the pedestrian area. And the “Alter Schlachthof” is the ideal starting point, as it is located right in middle of it.

{image}

You are interested in arts, culture and history? Then you have come to the right place. It is not for nothing that Brixen bears such telling titles like oldest Tyrolean town, Baroque or episcopal city. A sightseeing tour of the landmarked historic centre is definitely a must: from the large and small arcades to alleys lined with battlements through to the cobbled cathedral square, where everything and everyone comes together. The cathedral, several museums and various other landmarks are in sight as well as in reach from here.

A little bargain hunting or a great event for once? Or you would rather like to visit the climbing gym, ride a bicycle through the surrounding vineyards or to ski on the Plose mountain? In the city where the Rienz and Eisack rivers merge, everything is possible

Filz_5581.jpg More images
Right in the middle
  • 0 m to the pedestrian and shopping area
  • 50 m to the pharmacy museum
  • 300 m to the cathedral square, cathedral and cloister
  • 100 m to the Stella cinema
  • 300 m to the prince-bishop’s Hofburg
  • 200 m to the city gallery
  • 100 m to the Aquarena
  • 0 m to the Kloster Neustift hiking trail
  • 150 m to the Vertikale climbing gym
  • 0 m to the Brenner-Bozen cycling route
  • 0 m to the start of the Archeo path
  • 100 m to the ski shuttle
  • 50 m to the city bus

Sights

What you have to see in Brixen

Bikers welcome

Take a break at the “Alter Schlachthof”

Activities in Brixen

You are left with all the opportunities

Brixen zeigt Charakter: mit kulturellen und sportlichen Zügen, echtem Südtiroler und doch südlichem Flair

Das Gastlokal „Alter Schlachthof“ liegt mitten in einem Städtchen, wo viele Gegensätze aufeinandertreffen – und sich zu einem durchwegs spannenden und sympathischen Ganzen zusammenfügen. Wer über den Brennerpass kommend in Brixen landet, merkt nicht nur an den Temperaturen, sondern auch an der Atmosphäre: hier beginnt er, der warme Süden. Zugleich erinnern überall deutliche Spuren alpiner Tradition, die verwinkelten Gassen und die nach wie vor imposante Bergkulisse daran, dass man sich eben noch nicht ganz so weit südlich befindet.

In Brixen verbinden sich jedoch nicht nur die Vorzüge von alpinem und mediterranem Leben. Hier, im quirligen Zentrum des Eisacktals, verschmelzen auch sportliche und kulturelle Highlights, Einkaufs- und Genuss-Angebote zu einem Freizeitprogramm, das für jeden Geschmack, jeden Tag und jede Laune was Passendes bereithält. Du möchtest zunächst einfach mal durch die Stadt spazieren? Perfekt. Brixen ist wie zum Bummeln gemacht, vor allem die Fußgängerzone. Und der „Alte Schlachthof“ ist ein idealer Ausgangspunkt, schließlich befindet er sich mittendrin.

Filz_5581.jpg Weitere Bilder

Du interessierst dich für Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte? Dann bist Du hier ebenfalls richtig. Nicht umsonst trägt Brixen so vielsagende Titel wie älteste Stadt Tirols, Barock- und Bischofsstadt. Eine Besichtigungstour in der denkmalgeschützten Altstadt ist auf jeden Fall ein Muss: durch die Großen und kleinen Lauben, von Zinnen gesäumte Gassen bis auf den gepflasterten Domplatz, wo alles und jeder zusammenkommt. Der Dom, mehrere Museen und weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten sind von hier aus in Sicht- und Reichweite.

Zur Abwechslung eine kleine Schnäppchenjagd oder ein tolles Event gefällig? Oder lieber in die Kletterhalle, mit dem Rad durch die umliegenden Weinberge oder mit Skiern auf den Hausberg Plose? Denn in der Stadt, wo Rienz und Eisack zusammenfließen, ist alles möglich.

Mittendrin statt nur dabei
  • 0 m zu Fußgänger- und Shoppingzone
  • 50 m zum Pharmaziemuseum
  • 300 m zu Domplatz, Dom und Kreuzgang
  • 100 m zum Stellakino
  • 300 m zur fürstbischöflichen Hofburg
  • 200 m zur Stadtgalerie
  • 100 m zur Aquarena
  • 0 m zum Wanderweg Kloster Neustift
  • 150 m zur Vertikale Kletterhalle
  • 0 m zum Radweg Brenner-Bozen
  • 0 m zum Start des Archeopfads
  • 100 m zum Skibus
  • 50 m zum Citybus

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Was Du in Brixen gesehen haben musst

Bikers welcome

Anhalten und einkehren lohnt sich

Weitere Aktivitäten in Brixen

Es gibt einfach so viel zu tun